Streetlights Down Memory Lane

First Crush: My Tribute To Davy Jones

Who was your first love, your first crush? Was it the boy next store? A teen idol? Or that guy you hoped would at least look at you when you passed each other in the hall at school?

In 1966, I was fourteen years old. Up until that time, I’d certainly had my share of near crushes. Elvis Presley when I was six, the New Orleans policeman (we didn’t say officer back then) who stood next to me in an elevator, even then I was drawn to a man in uniform, and Robert Wagner when I was eight. And then there was Chris Pittman. I was eleven and he was the best friend of the boy who lived across the street from me. I guess you could call it an almost crush. He teased me with that twinkle in his blue eyes and pulled my pigtails on more than one occasion. I remember I was not quite sure what to do with how he treated me. But, I confess, I liked it.

All of them had their special place, “priming the pump”, preparing my heart for that special detour on my road to discovering what love really was.

The day was September 12, 1966. Within the first five minutes of NBC’s, The Monkees, I fell in love. In all of its teenage puberty laden hormonal glory. In my fourteen years on the planet, I’d never seen any one more adorable, breathtaking and totally heart stopping then Davy Jones. Today, I can say with  confidence that Davy Jones was my first real crush! Was it because of my age and the natural hormonal changes that come with that age? Would I have not fallen so completely head over heals if I had just turned twelve? Would I have just smiled and said, “sure he’s cute but way too short”, if I had been seventeen?

Maybe. But all I know is that I’ll never trade that moment in my life when my sweet wholesome heart opened like a flower for this handsome young Englishman. Sparking the wonders of love in my heart, he set in motion the most exciting treasure hunt I would ever experience. He gave me a point of reference, a beginning place to start my journey. Filled with a gamut of emotions that I’d never experienced before, Davy Jones awakened feelings in me that have never stopped.

And this was just the beginning.

Until him, I hadn’t known what love really felt like. So, each week, I watched his show, played his records and danced and sang to his music with my girlfriends. Week after week, I watched The Monkees, so happy when the episode showcased him. Thrilled when the cameras focused on his adorable, handsome face, his contagious smile and his crop of straight dark hair. Groovy didn’t even begin to explain what I felt when I looked at him. I completely and utterly adored him.

There were no tape players or DVD’s or YouTube where you could watch your favorite show over and over at will. No, I had to wait until the next week to see him again. For the first time in my life my heart pounded with sheer joy and giddiness over the opposite sex. Until Davy Jones, I’d never known or experienced what “longing” really meant. And even though I knew this girl from the south would never know him or get to meet him, it didn’t deter my joy in watching him each week and creating a world in which he danced and sang with me.

Forever, my first love, Davy Jones became the measurement of everything I looked for in a boy after that.  Maybe that’s what first crushes do. They give you a marker from which to start. A place to begin. If this is what love feels like from a distance and totally one sided, what must love really feel like, in all of its glory and reality?

Even his chipper performance of Cuddly Toy embodies everything delightful and sweet about my crush. If Davy and I could have had a song, that would have been it. With, We Were Made For Each Other, a sure back up. If I had one word to describe that time, it would be, joyful.

Here’s the link to Cuddly Toy in case you’re interested. Go ahead and watch it, you know you want to!

Is it any wonder, I write sweet romances? 🙂

Davy Jones gave me the starting point. He was the starting block in my race to find true love. He was the road sign that pointed in the right direction. He paved the way and the door opened wide and I walked right through it. As a result I knew what to look for and eventually found it in a young man named Tom. Twinkled eyed and handsome, who only had eyes for me. Because of my crush, at that time in my life, and the focus of that crush, I recognized real love when I finally found it.

My teen years with Davy were a magical time and a safe place for my young heart to embrace life and love with joyful abandon. My memories of the sweet and adorable charm of Davy Jones and the joy in watching and listening to Cuddly Toy have made my books better and more importantly, my life.

I love that Davy fathered four girls! How wonderfully appropriate! He must have known what he’d done to the hearts of millions of girls across the planet, but in case he didn’t, I’m sure he finally learned it first hand by watching each of his daughters experience their first crush! I’m sure it opened a special window into that world he’d been so much a part of. Not that he ever asked for total and complete adoration from millions of teenage girls, but in God’s perfect plan Davy Jones was the chosen one. Watching him perform, I believe he loved every minute of it. I know I certainly did.

Every generation has their teen idols; my mother’s was Frank Sinatra. I’m forever thankful Davy Jones was mine.

Love and Blessings,

Darcy

David Thomas Jones 

1945-2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

Connect with me on Facebook, I’d LOVE to be your friend!

22 thoughts on “First Crush: My Tribute To Davy Jones”

  1. Ah, I was a Paul McCartney freak. Went berserk, along with hundreds of other teens, at the Hard Day’s Night movie. It broke my heart when he married Linda Eastman, although they had a long, happy marriage. So, if he wasn’t going to marry me, I guess he made a decent choice.

    1. Oh yea! Paul was a honey for sure! But, alas, he didn’t steal my heart! 🙂 I love that he had a long and happy marriage with Linda! On the other hand, had he met you, then things might have been different! lol

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Regina! He certainly did give us happiness. I read yesterday that in the US alone, he had a million follows during the two years The Monkees were on the air. 🙂 I’m not surprised! Thanks again for stopping by!

  2. Absolutely beautiful. I could not have said it better. Thank you for writing and sharing with us as we loved and still love Davy Jones. He is Written in Our Hearts.
    Regina
    Raleigh, NC

    1. Thank you,Regina. I had such a sweet time remembering my teen years and all he meant to me during that time. Did you know Davy’s last recorded song is called Written In Our Hearts? I think he co-wrote it. But it was written for this past Valentine’s Day. I heard it played on a radio program where he’d just been interviewed. The song was not the final cut. But lovely and very romantic. 🙂

      Thanks so much for your comments and for stopping by!

    1. Bev sweetie, you have made my day! God bless you, honey! I’ve been praying daily for your family. I’m touched that one of Davy’s family members knows my heart! I would love to hear from you again sometime. If you’re so inclined, you can contact me directly from my web-site.

      Love and Blessings

  3. Wonderful post Darcy and a great tribute to Davy Jones! I was so sad to hear he had passed away so young. I wasn’t born when the Monkees made their debut (I came around a year later), but I certainly remember them as a young child. I loved their music and the antics.

    1. Thank you Casey! Their music and their antics were wonderful! Timing is everything and they hit it just right! It was such a wholesome delightfully fun show! 🙂

  4. Oh, man Darcy! Mike was my teenage idol! Davy was my little sisters.’ She was only five at the time. We both had terrible crushes on these Monkees. I loved that little green toboggan Mike wore. He wasn’t exactly handsome, but there was something soulful about him. I collected all those Monkee cards in bubble gum and got their first album.

    Did you know Mike and Davy had the same birthday? Mike was a few years older, but they were both born on December 30th. Thanks for posting this. I’m going to send the link to my little sister. She’s the one who emailed to tell me Davy passed away. So sad. Such a cutie.

    1. Laurean, Mike was adorable! They all were, really. Their Marx Brother antics were so cute and very funny. I like your description of Mike. He was soulful!:) I believe he wrote a lot of their music, too. Didn’t he? Very cool that they were born on the same birthday! I didn’t know that!

      Yes, do send your little sister my tribute. Hope it touches her. Thanks so much for sharing!

      1. Darcy,

        Mike did write a lot of their music. After the show ended Mike came out with that song, “Her Name Was Joanne…and she lived in a meadow by a pond.” Do you remember that one? It seemed his music took on a bluegrass/country sound after the Monkees.

        My son knew how much I adored the Monkees, so about 10 years ago he got us tickets to The Monkee Reunion in Lexington, KY. They came riding in (everyone but Mike) on their Monkee-mobile about 45 minutes late. None were recognizable. When I yelled, “Oh my gosh! Mickey looks just like Roy Clark!” my sister went into hysterics.

        I have one more week to take my mother to treatments in Paris. Then they will re-evaluate her situation. I wish we could meet for lunch. I don’t know the exact days I will be taking her, yet. My email: landtbeth@yahoo.com

  5. Laurean,

    I remember that song. With Mike’s laid back demeanor, I’m not surprised he leaned toward country/bluegrass. Sorry he wasn’t on stage for you that day! So glad you got to see the others in concert, especially Davy! 🙂
    And as I think about who Mickey looks like…by golly,it is Roy Clark! 🙂

  6. Darcy I came across your article on your first crush with Davy Jones tonite by accident. It brought back so many memories when I was a 6 year old watching the monkees to see that cute Davy Jones. I couldn’t wait to get my home work done to watch the show. I think he had to be my first real crush too. Then when he was on the brady bunch looking as cute as ever I was so jealous of that Marcia Brady. I still have to watch it today hoping to see the Get Davy Jones episode. I was lucky to see him numerous times in concert especially last June with The Monkees. His death was such a shock to us all but I think back to all those great memories he left us and know that he is a a better place.

    1. Hi, Gloria!

      So glad you came across my article! It was four months ago today that Davy passed away, so it must have been meant to be.:) So nice to be able to remind you of your happy childhood memories with Davy and The Monkees! Like you, I was so jealous of that Marcia Brady! lol And you’re so right, he was as cute as ever! Much to my regret, I never had the opportunity to see him in concert. And I agree, he is in a better place and someday we’ll be there, too and you and I can talk about our little e-mail that we shared because of him. -:)

      Best,
      Darcy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.