Authors in Bloom Hop

April 10th – April 19th 2013

10 Days of Giveaways-Gardening Tips-Recipes-and more!

Plus GRAND PRIZE you’ll be digging to win!

Books - it is our memory concept

How it will work:

Authors participating will post their giveaway, gardening tip, recipe or both on their website, beginning April 10th and leaving their contest open through the 19th.  You will have 10 days to enter each individual author contest and then submit your entry for the grand prize!!  To win the GRAND PRIZE, you must visit each and every author on the hop.

GRAND PRIZE: Kindle Fire or Nook (winner’s choice) along with a $25 gift card for the same.

My winner, (continental US, only) will receive an autographed copy of my sweet contemporary romance, Keeper of My darcy flynn, www.darcyflynnromances.comHeart, and some surprise swag.

Outside the continental US, I will give the winner, an e-book copy of Keeper of My Heart.

TO ENTER

1. Leave a comment. Make sure to leave your e-mail address so we can contact you if you win!

2. Follow/subscribe to my blog/website.

3. Like my Facebook page.

Number 2. and 3. above is easily accessed from this page! 🙂

                                                Perennial Herb Garden

Perennial Herb Garden

Perennial Herb Garden

Fresh herbs can be expensive so why not plant a small garden of your own. Herbs are very easy to grow and also do well in pots. Plant in full sun, water and enjoy. Perennials will take off the second year. Make the round bed 3′ to 4′ in diameter. This plan shows only perennials but you can substitute annuals where desired. Some annuals to consider are: Basil, Rosemary, Parsley and Marjoram.

Harvest in the morning or early evening as the heat of the sun drives the oils/flavor in the leaves to the base of the plant. 🙂

                                                       Chive Vinegar

Chives

Chives

Fill a tall decorative clear glass bottle (Pier 1 has a nice selection) with white vinegar. Cut a handful of fresh chives while in bloom (the bloom is round and purple) and add to the vinegar. Set in your pantry or kitchen cabinet for one week. The vinegar will take on the pale lavender of the bloom and the subtle scent of onion. Serve the chive vinegar with olive oil on your favorite summer salads.

You can use most any cooking herb to make vinegars. Tarragon and Rosemary are good choices. For variety add green and black peppercorns for extra spice and flavor.


Congrats to Sharma Darby, winner of an autographed copy of Keeper of My Heart! Thanks, Sharma for participating in this years Authors in Bloom Hop!

32 thoughts on “Authors in Bloom Hop

    • Hi Kate! I love it, too. Especially when the vinegar turns pale purple. Not only is the oniony flavor there, but it’s a pretty color. 🙂 It also looks great sitting out on your kitchen counter.

  1. I’ve already done #2 and #3. 🙂

    Thanks for the chive vinegar tip! I’m definitely going to try that. I wish I had the space to add an herb garden like the diagram. I’ll have to settle for my little rectangle in the corner.

    • Hey Diana! The circle is beautiful, isn’t it? My herb garden is a large rectangle off my carport at my back door. That sounds strange but it really looks great. Carports ought to look good too, right? LOL Your little rectangle sounds perfect. You are one of the most creative gardeners I know. I love your posts on organic gardening! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. What a fun hop. I am sure that I will find some great blogs to follow. You are a new author for me and love finding new authors to read. This book sounds great. thanks for the chance to win.
    I love gardening and have a small herb garden every year. I also plant spearmint by my front porch because it keeps the mosquitos away. I have hated the same spearmint planted out front and mosquitoes never bother us when we sit out there. I like you design for the perinnial herbs, will have to try a small version of that.

    • Hi Chris! I just followed you on Twitter! 🙂 Didn’t know you’d visited my blog. So glad you like the sound of my book. It’s really an entertaining, fun read. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂
      I love spearmint. I plant mine in a very large pot as it’s so invasive. But, I didn’t know it kept mosquitos away. I’ll have to plant it in pots around my porches. Thanks for the tip!

  3. I only recently started cooking with fresh herbs and I have debated on trying my hand at a small herb garden but I am sure I would kill it! I guess I wont know until I try though. I like the idea of spearmint keeping away mosquitos. That alone has peaked my interest even more! Thank you so much for the advice and chance to win your book!

    • Hey Jennifer! Herbs are actually some of the easiest plants to grow. Just make sure they get plenty of sun. If you plant any mints: spearmint, peppermint, lemon balm and the like, remember they are INVASIVE and will take over your garden. Plant with care. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    • Thanks, Sue. It’s small and very manageable. Another easy design is to lay out an old wooden ladder, then mark where you want it and then dig out the areas between the rungs. Lay the ladder back down and plant an herb in each rectangle. It’s more a country look. 🙂

  4. hi Darcy nice layout. I like gardening but my cats just ruin everything i plant 😦
    And i would love to read your books it sounds nice 🙂

    • Hey Sam! I’ve heard stories of how cats can mess up a garden, but mine never did. You’ll just have to dream of gardens or possible plant a few pots! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Thanks for the giveaway! I love springtime, too! I followed your blog via email: mestith at gmail dot com
    I liked your FB page: Meghan Stith
    Thanks again!
    mestith at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

